Your browser is ancient!
Upgrade to a different browser to experience this site.

Skip to main content

Leading Educational Innovation and Improvement


Nominated for the 2020 edX Prize

Education systems around the world face the central challenge of finding innovative solutions and techniques for improving student performance. This challenge is shared by teachers, teacher-leaders, and principals who are responsible for improving opportunities to learn, with two goals: raising average levels of student performance and reducing achievement gaps between students.

Beyond schools, leaders in district offices, government agencies, professional associations, and other non-governmental enterprises also share the challenge of improving student performance at scale across entire schools, districts, and systems.

Developed in collaboration with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching - and drawing on the expertise of leading researchers, innovators, and practitioners - the Leading Educational Innovation and Improvement MicroMasters program will empower learners to collaborate and strengthen educational opportunities and outcomes for millions of students, especially those currently underserved by their public schools.

This MicroMasters program will develop learners’ knowledge of educational innovation, research, and practice to enable them to improve the education and lives of children in their own schools and beyond.

More information on the MicroMasters program can be found at the University of Michigan website.

  • Subject

  • Language


  • Duration

    None week

  • Status


  • U-M Credit Eligible



  • Deborah Loewenberg Ball

    The William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education and an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor in the School of Education

  • Anthony S. Bryk


  • Nell Duke

    Professor in the School of Education

  • Alicia Grunow

    Senior Fellow, Improvement Science

  • Liz Kolb

    Clinical Assistant Professor in the School of Education

  • Paul LeMahieu

    Senior VP for Programs and Operations

  • Amanda Meyer

    Associate, Improvement Science

  • Elizabeth Birr Moje

    Dean of the School of Education

  • Donald J. Peurach

    Professor of Educational Policy, Leadership, and Innovation in the School of Education

  • Gretchen Spreitzer

    The Keith E. and Valerie J. Alessi Professor of Business Administration

Courses (5)